Search
Close this search box.

‹‹ MORE NEWS

Ziegler, Electa Matilda Curtis

NUGGET #26

Ziegler, Electa Matilda Curtis (1841-1932), a native of Schuylerville, N.Y., was an heiress who owned Hawley Cottage/Ashton Croft (now Wesley Hall, part of Jesse Lee Memorial United Methodist Church) on Main Street from 1912-1924; she was a benefactor of the blind, publishing a magazine and books for the visually impaired, and founding the E. Matilda Ziegler Foundation for the Blind which, to this day, provides millions in grants for research into blindness. Her husband, William Ziegler (1843-1905), was a millionaire leader in the baking powder industry whose mansion on Great Island, Darien, became one of the most expensive estates in the nation.

From Jack Sanders, Who Was Who in Ridgefield.

Search

More Posts

On Board with Phil Esser

Phil brings his extensive historic preservation experience to our organization helping us to safeguard significant buildings in town.

Send Us A Message

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and receive updates, news, and invitations.

Visit Us

Ridgefield Historical Society
4 Sunset Lane
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Tel. (203) 438-5821

Follow Us

Community

 © 2024 Ridgefield Historical Society, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy