Close this search box.


CT Humanities Awards Summer at the Museum Grant to Ridgefield Historical Society

Thanks to a Summer at the Museum grant from CT Humanities, the Ridgefield Historical Society will welcome visitors this July and August to both the Scott House and Peter Parley Schoolhouse.

This summer, the Ridgefield Historical Society will use a Summer at the Museum grant from Connecticut Humanities to welcome visitors to our 1714 David Scott House and the historic Peter Parley Schoolhouse.

The CT Summer at the Museum program invites Connecticut children and their families to visit participating museums free of charge from July 1 through Sept. 4. Funding for the initiative is provided by the CT General Assembly, with the support of Connecticut Humanities and the Department of Economic and Community Development, Office of the Arts, which also receives support from the federal ARPA.

The Ridgefield Historical Society’s historic David Scott House, built in 1714 by an original proprietor, will be open to visitors on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 1 to 5 p.m. A captivating collection of photographs and artifacts related to the history of Ridgefield will be on display. The Ridgefield Historical Society’s Peter Parley Schoolhouse, a one-room schoolhouse and a museum of early education in Ridgefield, will be open for tours the last Sunday of each month from 1 to 4 p.m.

For children and students who missed out on more than two years of group and school visits to cultural institutions as part of hands-on, interactive learning during the pandemic, the CT Summer at the Museum Program offers families a chance to benefit from museum programs, activities, and exhibits.


More Posts

Send Us A Message

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and receive updates, news, and invitations.

Visit Us

Ridgefield Historical Society
4 Sunset Lane
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Tel. (203) 438-5821

Follow Us


 © 2024 Ridgefield Historical Society, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy