Close this search box.


Treasures From the Archives: Letters Home (Part 2)

Read Thompson Derr's second and third letters to his mother from Ridgefield School in 1916.
Ridgefield School from old postcard

Established in 1907 by Roland Jessup Mulford, the Ridgefield School stood on southern Main Street serving as a boarding school for boys during the school year and as the Ridgefield Inn during the summer.

February 5 and 7, 1916

Read Thompson’s second and third letters to his mother in February 1916.

Note: Click the < and > buttons above to move through the slide show. Click the three dots icon then click “Enter full screen” to enlarge the slide show to fill your screen.

The Treasures from the Archives series is supported by the CT Humanities and Fairfield County Bank.


More Posts

Seeking Collections Volunteers

The Ridgefield Historical Society is seeking collections volunteers to become an integral part of our mission to preserve and share the fascinating history of our town.

On Board with Eric Hutner

This month, we introduce Eric Hutner, who recently joined the Historical Society Board as recording secretary.

Send Us A Message

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and receive updates, news, and invitations.

Visit Us

Ridgefield Historical Society
4 Sunset Lane
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Tel. (203) 438-5821

Follow Us


 © 2023 Ridgefield Historical Society, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy