Search
Close this search box.

‹‹ MORE NEWS

Burt’s Pond

NUGGET #29

Burt’s Pond: 1. An 18th and early 19th Century name for Lake Mamanasco; first used in a 1793 deed; Benjamin Burt (1680-1759, the town’s first blacksmith) bought grist mill at lake outlet in 1742; after his death 1759, eldest son, Seaborn Burt (1706-1773, born on a ship bringing his family to Boston after being freed from captivity in Quebec, where they were taken by the French and Indians; came to Ridgefield as a child), operated it until his death in 1773; a few Burt properties were confiscated during Revolution because some Burts took sides with the British; in 1800s Burts had interests at Mamanasco – Joshua Burt was one of several mill owners in 1817, and Epenetus Burt had grist and saw mills at the lake in 1865; family continued to live in Mamanasco neighborhood until early 1900s; sometimes mispronounced Birch Pond. 2. Great Pond was also called Burt’s Pond during the late 18th Century — it is believed that Benjamin Burt had land there.

From Jack Sanders, Ridgefield Names.

Search

More Posts

On Board with Phil Esser

Phil brings his extensive historic preservation experience to our organization helping us to safeguard significant buildings in town.

Send Us A Message

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and receive updates, news, and invitations.

Visit Us

Ridgefield Historical Society
4 Sunset Lane
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Tel. (203) 438-5821

Follow Us

Community

 © 2024 Ridgefield Historical Society, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy