Search
Close this search box.

‹‹ MORE NEWS

Agnes Creagh

Narrator: Agnes Creagh
Occupation:
Interviewer: Betsy Reid
Topics: Ridgefield history early 20th century
Biographical Note:
Born: April 9, 1914
Died: November 2007

Agnes’ parents, William Creagh and Mary Brady Creagh were Irish
immigrants who arrived in the United States in the early 1890’s.

Her Mother Mary worked as a lady’s maid for a wealthy woman in NYC. Her father worked as a “gentleman’s gentleman” for a wealthy doctor named William Flint in New York City. Mary Brady Creagh’s employer spent winters in Santa Barbara, California and Dr Flint traveled with her as her private physician. Agnes’ parents met on that train, were married in 1899 and arrived in Ridgefield in 1900 with Dr. Flint.

Wm. Creagh first worked on the estate of George Haven on West Lane. Her older brother was born there and attended the Peter Parley school. Also known as the “little red schoolhouse.” Later her family moved to Col. Louis Conley’s estate, now known as Bennett’s Pond, where Agnes was born. Agnes later attended the Titicus school.

In this clip, Agnes described her father’s car and what fun she and her sister Alice, ages 10 and 12, had with it in the early 1920’s.

Search

More Posts

On Board with Phil Esser

Phil brings his extensive historic preservation experience to our organization helping us to safeguard significant buildings in town.

Send Us A Message

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and receive updates, news, and invitations.

Visit Us

Ridgefield Historical Society
4 Sunset Lane
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Tel. (203) 438-5821

Follow Us

Community

 © 2024 Ridgefield Historical Society, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy