8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Location: Ridgefield Town Hall, Ridgefield
On View from May 6 through August 15:
Located on the Main Level
This exhibit, sponsored by the Historical Society and assembled by Jack and Sally Sanders from material in their own collection, aims to show the many, varied, and often fascinating aspects of Ridgefield’s postal history.
Mail had long been a popular and affordable way to send messages to family, friends, and businesses. And despite lack of electronics and high-speed transportation for most of its history, U.S. mail was incredibly efficient.
The first mail to Ridgefield from the outside world arrived via stagecoach at the Keeler Tavern. In 1793, a year after the U.S. Post Office Department was created, Ridgefield’s first official post office opened in the King & Dole Store, now the Aldrich Museum offices.
In the years that followed, post offices were often set up in stores, whose owners were also the postmasters. By 1900, there were also neighborhood post offices in Ridgebury, Titicus, and Branchville. The first freestanding post office opened in 1922, right across the street, where Addessi Jewelers currently stands.
Ridgefield had a rich postal history in another respect. Amazingly, seven Ridgefielders have been honored on U.S. stamps. In addition, scores of U.S. stamps have been designed by Ridgefield artists.
For more information, visit Jack Sanders’ website at RidgefieldHistory.com.
On View Now through August 15:
Authors From Ridgefield
Located on the Lower Level